50mm APO Summicron-SL vs Summilux-SL?

globalwander

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Dear fellow Leica nerds,

I need your help please. Trying to decide between the 50mm Summicron-SL and the 50mm Summilux-SL on my SL camera. 

Would appreciate your insights and thoughts. I am not a professional photographer. This is for my personal use. Typical application is for family, travel and portraiture. 

My current cameras and lenses are as follows: Leica Q, M (Typ 262) with 35mm Summicron-M, and my SL with the Vario Elmarit 24-90. 

Thank you!

For portraiture on a tripod the 50/1.4.

For hand to hand combat, the 50/1.4.

For travel the 50/2.0

For family the 50/2.0.

How often do you find yourself reaching for the 24-90 versus those other cameras?  I think there in lies your answer...

Edited by paulsydaus
  • Like 2
  • Haha 2

9 hours ago, vincent_1919 said:

Just get the sigma or pana 50 1.4 instead of summilux. The quality difference between summilux and pana is indistinguishable to most of people.

As to apo-summicron-sl, the sharpest lens on the market, period.

I’m waiting for the Panasonic super telephoto for birding and wildlife. But for standard focal range, I love my Leica glass rendering. Thanks for the response. 

10 hours ago, vincent_1919 said:

Just get the sigma or pana 50 1.4 instead of summilux. The quality difference between summilux and pana is indistinguishable to most of people.

As to apo-summicron-sl, the sharpest lens on the market, period.

Having shot with all four of the APO Summicron SL lenses, I would have to respectively disagree. That honour goes to the 35 APO SL

• Like 4

I don’t think we can tell you which is a better match for your particular needs.  We can just tell you the relative strengths.

For the Summicron:

- Faster focusing

- Sharper across the field and especially in the corners up to f/5.6

- Smaller and lighter
- Less expensive (a bit)

For the Summilux:

- Lovely, swirly bokeh at f/1.4

- A bit more light grasp