Question about Q/Q2 Summilux lens

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am new to Leica. The Q/Q2 lens states its name as ‘Summilux ASPH’, at the same time i see there is a ‘Panasonic Summilux ASPH’. 

what is the difference between the two? Given that Panasonic branded lens are a lot cheaper. 

also, even though my Q2 says at the bottom plate ‘Made in Germany’, can the lens be one of the Panasonic produced Summilux in it?

thanks, and understand that i know little of Leica’s various branded items and history in general. 

If you mean THIS LENS then the differences are rather visible:

1° lens body is totally different and look *cheap"
2° 25mm
4° 1.4 aperture
5° Micro 3/4 form factor
6° 46mm filter diameter
7° no macro function

There is also the LUMIX G LEICA DG SUMMILUX Lens, 12mm, F1.4 ASPH and there is a ELMARIT series too.

I guess that the lens design and lenses itself are adapted to the Micro 3/4 factor and maybe made by Leica, ut thats all.
My Panasonic LX100 has a LEICA lens, my Huawai P30 as well, Leica is developing and probably manufacturing lenses for a lot of manufacturers.

Here is some more information about the Panasonic Leica lenses

Chris

I just stubled over this on the above linked Panasonic Page:

Zitat

“LEICA DG” is the name given to the lenses for the Panasonic LUMIX G Series of Digital Single Lens Mirrorless cameras. All LEICA DG Lenses are certified by Leica Camera AG and manufactured by Panasonic. “DG” stands for the Digital G Series.
The lens names, such as NOCTICRON, SUMMILUX, SUMMICRON, ELMARIT and ELMAR, are designated by Leica according to the maximum aperture (F-value). VARIO is a German designation that indicates zoom.

Edited by PhotoCruiser

2 hours ago, mynewleica said:

I am new to Leica. The Q/Q2 lens states its name as ‘Summilux ASPH’, at the same time i see there is a ‘Panasonic Summilux ASPH’. 

what is the difference between the two? Given that Panasonic branded lens are a lot cheaper.