Mscott842

How many M9s with original sensor

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm new to the Leica world (after 30 years a Nikon and Hasselblad devotee) and have a chance a clean to get into an M9-P that appears to have a clean sensor. Are there a percentage of these that don't have corrosion? Are there M9s going strong with original sensor? Or is it only a matter of time before the corrosion presents itself? Much appreciate some input from the veterans!

The percentage of M9s that have been repaired for corroded sensors is unknown, but there are certainly plenty with the original sensor around. My take is: If a sensor hasn't corroded by now, it probably won't.

11 hours ago, Mscott842 said:

have a chance a clean to get into an M9-P that appears to have a clean sensor

You don't mention if the sensor has been changed or not. If the sensor has already been changed it will be fine. If not, it can develop the problem at any time.

My advice would be to check with the seller. If it has not been changed I would factor in the substantial cost of getting it changed at some time in the future. I would certainly not pay much for an original sensor camera.

This is very helpful. Appreciate the comments. Sensor was original. Since I posted, I had the opportunity to switch to a replaced sensor M9-P body for a $1300 bump and decided to go for it and avoid the 1-2 month delay of getting sensor changed. Excited to put the M9 to use. Now just need to source glass. Looking at 35mm Summicron or Summilux as a first lens.

On 3/11/2020 at 1:43 PM, GiorgioNuvolari said:

For what it is worth, my M9-P has just corroded, and is in Wetzlar for repair. Best, GN

How much does Leica charge for this now?

On 3/14/2020 at 12:29 PM, GiorgioNuvolari said:

In Wetzlar EUR1550 incl. VAT. 

Thanks. Maybe more than the camera is worth. I have an M-E (220) but there are no signs at all of these problems. 

17 hours ago, Ivar B said: