S3 AF System...PDAF ?

glenerrolrd

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Does anyone know if the S3 AF system is PDAF or CDAF .  I understand from several reviews that the “focus post” can be moved around the frame .  This should help but the system in the S 007 is not IMHO adequate for the S3 .   I have read conflicting specifications and can not find any solid information on the new S3 AF .  You can t just point me to an existing review as I have seen it both ways .  

Also, in this post a few have talked about focusing:  old method mirror down (optical focusing) and newer technology mirror up (Live view through sensor).  I believe some of the older Nikon’s even used a mirror that was semi transparent to allow the sensor to perform some focusing, but have not seen specifics regarding the S3.

Yes       Very confusing explanations .  I am no expert but my limited understanding has been that :

Only a PDAF based auto focus system can do focus tracking at a level required for sports . 

A PDAF system requires on sensor hardware that can causes banding in high ISO captures .  

Those are gross generalizations and how there are differences in how well the designer implemented the technology .  

It seems to be the same basic design as the S-007. That's not to say that the implementation details haven't changed, but the overall idea is the same.