Leica Elmar 5cm f3.5 vs Nikkor 5cm f/2 - ltm

max.mlzr

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hey guys,

I'm currently setting up a Leica Screw Mount kit. I will be buying a CLA'd Leica iii with a new splitbeam mirror.

The whole kit is planned to be used for a gap year in New Zealand and therefore it needs to be small but still affordable because I'm still a student.

Now I can't decide between a probably uncoated but CLA'd Ltm 5cm Elmar f/3,5 and a Nikkor 5cm f/2.

The Elmar is incredible small which is amazing for travalling while still having a good quality as a like. And it fits in the ever ready case. BUT I really like using filters and it is very hard to use them on the Elmar because it needs those special A36 filters and I need to put them off everytime to change the aperture which is still hard without the filter.

The latter on the other hand doesn't have the advantage of being able to be pushed inside the body to become very small but it uses normal filters and it isnt hard to set the aperture with it. But it does not fit in the everready bag (or am I wrong?).

The question is now which one is better? How about the optical quality, I have no ressources to exactly compare them.

Greetings

Hello Max,

I can comment only using the Elmar 3.5/5cm.

As I know well having used and still use some 5cm Elmar over time.

We can buy coated or non coated Elmar 5cm/50mm, but in my use, not much difference coated or not, only when used contre-jour situation,

and mainly when the light hitting the front lens or the filter mounted.

I understand that from start in 1930's, the lens was created simply without "needing coating" not available by then.

Using filter is simple as those venerable A36 filters have screw to secure the filter when mounted on front of the lens,

changing aperture is not that frequent, I set at f/6.3 or f/8 for all day long, so f/5.6 f/6.3 with yellow filter on for 100-200 ISO film.

Setting speed according to lighting condition.