Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone!

I'm new to the leica film cameras but I came up a rather very nice iiif in great condition which comes with a summarit 50mm f1.5 going for about $550. This sounded like a pretty good deal to me, however, upon closer inspection the lens seemed to have a lot of haze (not sure about fungus) as when I performed the light test there were specks everywhere. It seemed to be internal and in the second glass?? Not sure how to fix it or if I even can, also the focus ring was pretty stiff (but that isn't a deal breaker or anything). Like I said, the body of the camera was in very good condition however the lens is my biggest concern. As most of you are owners/experts and such please help me out and let me know if this is a good deal or not. 

Thanks, Ashley

Edited by ashley12234

You'll have to decide yourself whether you consider this a good deal or not, but a body that "is in great condition" (to me it sounds like "looks nice but needs a CLA" (say, 350$)) and a lens the may be, or not be - but then it will need expert attention (say another few hundred $$) - a write-off, sounds like a gamble to me. There are plenty of good iiif cameras and Summarits out there from trusted sellers that are less problematic, even if they appear to be a bit more expensive up front.

Optical cell is more or less fully closed, isolated from environmental influence with one exception and this is aperture. Aperture Ring is greased and especially grease used late fiftieth early sixties has a tendency to evaporate and to deposit on glass close to aperture blades. In case of Summarit it would be between 3rd and 4th element. Very often opening the lens allow to clean the fog completely, however sometimes the vapor destroyed the coating and the only one way to make the lens usable is to remove the coating.