Second portrait camera to complement Leica Q

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I know this question is a point of no return, but, after using Leica Q for half year and loving every second of it, I'm starting to want a second camera to complement Leica Q.  Specifically, I'm looking for another one-camera-one-lens system that could shoot portrait.

To be honest, I'm not a professional photographer by any means.  Most of my photos are family, children, friends, and some travel.  And the children are getting to the age of resisting camera and posing, so I want something that I can shoot from a farther distance, like 75 mm ~ 135 mm (35 mm equivalent).  I'm not sure if 50 mm is still too "in the face."  I've seen friends capturing great expressions of kids with a 135 mm.  I don't see myself shooting birds or sports with the tele lens.

Any suggestion welcomed, either fixed prime, "bridge" camera or ILC.  Obviously Q will be the main show and take 90% of the photos.  So ideally the second system is not too heavy or bulky.  I've read similar threads on this forum and know many recommend CL with the 55-135 lens.  That is unfortunately over my budget for now, after just acquiring Q.  Although Q wasn't within my budget either :) (buying used helps).

I mainly use the Fuji X system, with my Q2 as a personal "everyday carry" camera. So now that you understand my bias.... when I want a second camera with a longer lens, I carry an X Pro 2 with the 50mm f/2 lens. The XP2 is an APSC size sensor, so the 50mm becomes a short tele lens useful for portraits. 

Edited by KenBennett
  • Like 4

Used CL with TL/SL, M or R lenses. 
It shares the same battery as the Q. 
Almost same UI and menu. 
Together they are close enough to be used alongside. 

Fuji cameras are too different and they do not play well with M lenses. 
X-Trans sensor makes rendering different.

Edited by nicci78
  • Like 5