WTF is "Linear Contrast" (PSCS 6)

adan

Advertisement (gone after registration)

This is mostly a trivia question bugging me. (Keep in mind I've been using Photoshop professionally since 1993).

In PSCS 6, in the Curves adjustment box. there is a preset called "Linear Contrast."

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

The funny thing is that it isn't "linear" - it is a very subtle S-curve to increase contrast very slightly. Which is fine - it's easy to see what it does, both on the curves chart and in the image. (see above).

But why is it called "Linear?" Was it actually supposed to linearize (or de-linearize) something or other, back in the deep dark past of digital image processing? Was it supposed to correct for some legacy non-linearized camera problem years ago? Does it have a special meaning if one is doing video tone editing (or some other kind of specialized work) with PS?

Why isn't it called "Very Slight Contrast Increase" - which is more descriptive of what it actually does.

In Adobe Camera Raw (the raw-import module - separate place in the workflow) there is also a "Linear Contrast" curves option, and that really is linear - a straight 45° line. No change to contrast, no handles.

Any other long-time PS users who remember if this once had some special "Linear" function to justify the name?

IIRC -but that was a Scott Kelby presentation I saw more than a decade a go so memory may fail me- it was said to match the linearity of the contrast curve of digital photographs to the (non?)linearity of a film curve. Not very convincing.To make the contrast of a digital image closer to the film look one must lift the midtones and then apply "linear contrast" At any rate, this setting hasn't changed since the very early days and is still there. One would have to ask somebody like Thomas Knoll.

• Thanks 1

3 hours ago, adan said: