Macro lenses for Leica CL. <merged>

DRWWE

Advertisement (gone after registration)

As I'm transitioning away from Nikon to my new CL, I'm contemplating a macro lens as I really enjoy close-up photography.  There is, of course, Leica's APO-Macro-Elmarit-TL 60mm f/2.8 ASPH.  I haven't had a chance to try one and hoped someone on this forum could comment on it.  What other options are there for the CL?  I have heard that Sigma is coming out with a 70mm f/2.8 DG Macro Art Lens at a very tempting price, but I have no experience with their lenses.  Any opinions and additional options (M lens with adapter?) will be appreciated.  Thanks.  

I know of no auto extension tubes, which would be really nice to have with the 55-135mm f3.5-4.5, which is a REALLY nice lens and focuses to 1 meter at all focal lengths, so zoomed in you can get a decent reproduction ratio. Definitely not a bug-shooting lens but you could be worse off at a place like the Arboretum.

I guess a higher quality close-up lens to screw into the front element might be acceptable, but I'd rather not. I wish someone like Kenko would come out with their two extension tube sets in L-mount.

All of the L-mount full-frame lenses would be an option, but preferably I want to stay with the TL lenses with my CL.

I have the Elmarit-TL 60mm f/2.8 ASPH. also and agree that it is awesome. I have only had it a short while but so far love it. 

I picked one up used on ebay for $1800 (54% of what new cost is!) and it is in absolute mint condition.

Here's a few macros I just shot.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Like 2

1 minute ago, AeroMirage said:

I have the Elmarit-TL 60mm f/2.8 ASPH. also and agree that it is awesome. I have only had it a short while but so far love it. 

I picked one up used on ebay for $1800 (54% of what new cost is!) and it is in absolute mint condition.