Leica M6 Question

Brandon Bustard

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am new to shooting film on a Leica. I recently bought a Leica R3 and have been shooting on this for the last few months. The light meter is definitely off and I am struggling with lighting my photos more than previously. I want to shoot more of a street style but unless I bring my phone out as an external light meter I'm missing a lot of my shots. 

Not that switching cameras is the necessary solution but I have heard such great things about the M6 with such great film street photographers like Joe Greer using this camera. Now this camera has a built in light meter as well, would this be any different than the one on the R3? What causes the larger price difference? Cause it's a rangefinder, and does this make shooting with more controlled light easier?

I'm a big fan of the Leica lenses, and struggled a bit after switching from a Canon AT-1 so looking for any recommendations or thoughts!

Exposure is an aquired art. In due course you will, with the aid of your exposure meter, learn to measure a basic setting and adjust to changing light by eye. The M6 is no different, in fact, the R3 has more measuring options. I suspect that you are using the wrong battery. The original cells are no longer available and you need either an adapter or have the camera adjusted.