Artin

Long lens on the SL2 with the MC 21

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have read that some of you have had experience with Canon long lenses with the MC21 

my question is .. does it work well  with all Canon super tele lenses or specific ones 

I have a few choices available to me locally 

my first choice would be the ..... 400 2.8 USM 1 ..... second would be a 500f4 USM 1. .. 3rd is a 400 DO USM 2.  

I do prefer a 400 2.8 + 1.4 converter 

Edited by Artin

20 hours ago, Artin said:

I have read that some of you have had experience with Canon long lenses with the MC21 

my question is .. does it work well  with all Canon super tele lenses or specific ones 

I have a few choices available to me locally 

my first choice would be the ..... 400 2.8 USM 1 ..... second would be a 500f4 USM 1. .. 3rd is a 400 DO USM 2.  

I do prefer a 400 2.8 + 1.4 converter 

I have no experience with the Canon 400mm f2.8. Plenty of experience however with the 400mm f4 DO USM2. I would think that on the SL2 with the MC-21 EF-L adapter, performance should be similar with any of these lenses. Be aware that AF doesn't operate as efficiently as a native L mount lens would. Personally however I find it perfectly acceptable for my use.

You can read the feedback that I posted here:

I use the Canon 400mm lens primarily for birding. I spent a long time debating with myself on whether to get the f2.8 or f4 version. Cost considerations aside, I eventually settled on the f4  for a number of reasons listed below in no particular order:   

1. Portability- the f4 is almost 1kg lighter than the f2.8 & approx. 11cm shorter, and that's before you add on the monster lens hood.