SL2 flash guidance, please!

NRKstudio

Advertisement (gone after registration)

To the forum gurus: 

For my SL2, I am seeking a good on-camera flash with radio transmitter capability, plus a controller for it.  

I have the SF40, and it’s not making the cut really.  TTL is decent tho, but I just read “The Flash Book” by Scott Kelby and his system is all about setting the flash/camera (move the flash off camera if possible) to Manual mode (1/4 flash power, iso 100, 1/125 sec, f/5.6)and just adjusting the camera from there.

So what have y’all been using for a good hot shoe flash and a radio controller?? 
The SF58 and c1 remote are out of my budget unfortunately! I’m an amateur photographer who shoots just my toddler and wife, and some friends/family events.  

thanks in advance for the guidance!

I use these for the radio part: https://www.lightpixlabs.com/pages/flashq-t2

For OCF street portraits, I use a Leica SF 24D with the FlashQ receiver attached. That combo is small enough to carry in my pocket until I need it. The transmitter is tiny and just sits on the camera all the time. Obviously, there's no TTL with that setup.

For studio use, I have some Profoto B2s, and use the regular Profoto Air remote (again no TTL). In a pinch, the same tiny FlashQ receiver can trigger the profotos via a short cable.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Like 3
  • Thanks 2

1 hour ago, andyturk said:

I use these for the radio part: https://www.lightpixlabs.com/pages/flashq-t2

For OCF street portraits, I use a Leica SF 24D with the FlashQ receiver attached. That combo is small enough to carry in my pocket until I need it. The transmitter is tiny and just sits on the camera all the time. Obviously, there's no TTL with that setup.