Please Help with Image Sharpness (new to this forum)

desert bee

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm sure I must be doing something wrong with my M8.  I recently purchased it but am having issues with focus and sharpness for some reason.  I use a Voigtlander, 35mm, and have used it at 1.4, 1.8, 2, 4, and 8 while focusing on the same point (a lens cap that i can't upload due to the .49MB restriction). 

1- the image is not sharp (VOIGTLANDER comes out slightly out of focus on all images, and I have a decent eye)

2-  i am about 0.7 meters away, so I am good there.

3- I have it set on A, with max ISO of 1250

***Any tips, or particular threads to get me up to speed on this gorgeous camera?  Thanks.

PS, I've been shooting a Sony A7 for about 4 years and consider myself slightly above amateur.

THANKS IN ADVANCE!!!!

Welcome to the forum.

Without the images, it's hard to comment. Could you resize it in Lightroom then post here?

You must be very close to the minimum focusing distance, if you're at 0.7m? Have you tried increasing the distance?

Using the rangefinder images to manually focus can be difficult at first, are you sure that it's in focus when you view the overlaping images in the viewfinder?

Ernst

vor 9 Stunden schrieb desert bee:

I'm sure I must be doing something wrong with my M8.  I recently purchased it but am having issues with focus and sharpness for some reason.  I use a Voigtlander, 35mm, and have used it at 1.4, 1.8, 2, 4, and 8 while focusing on the same point (a lens cap that i can't upload due to the .49MB restriction). 

1- the image is not sharp (VOIGTLANDER comes out slightly out of focus on all images, and I have a decent eye)

2-  i am about 0.7 meters away, so I am good there.

3- I have it set on A, with max ISO of 1250

***Any tips, or particular threads to get me up to speed on this gorgeous camera?  Thanks.

PS, I've been shooting a Sony A7 for about 4 years and consider myself slightly above amateur.