Help! My DNG-converted-JPEG is not the same the OOC JPEG.

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi All,

I am not sure if there is a topic on this so I am  going to post my problem here in the hope someone can help me.

I am a newbie and just got my Leica Q2 a couple of months ago. I normally shoot JPEG only and never try to shoot RAW because I did not yet have an editing software on my computer.

I recently purchased Luminar 4 and want to try out DNG files. To my dismay, the JPEG converted from DNG using Luminar 4 came out not as the same as the OOC JPEG. 

The DNG photo looks like it has black vignette at the four corners of the photo. A closer look at both photos showed that OOC JPEG looks like a cropped version of the DNG Photo. It is a smaller photo in comparision to DNG Photo with the vignette has been cropped (?).

Could someone pls explain why it is so? Not sure if Luminar4 does that or Leica DNG RAW file is supposed to be like that. Is there something in the Q2 I should set so the DNG photo does not come out with the vignette?  Otherwise I have to cropped away the vignette for every photo I am taking in RAW.

Below is OOC JPEG. I am posting DNG converted JPEG in the following post.  Your advice is very much appreciated.. Thank you and best regards.

I just found out that I am allowed to post 1 post/day so I have to post the other photo the 'next day' :(.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by LRookie
updating

Of course it is not the same. The in-camera one is generated to the camera presets. the computer one by the choices you made in your postprocessing software.

On top of that, the camera uses the complete data from the full lens design, which includes both digital and optical corrections and Luminar seems to use only half by ignoring the sidecar file. Open the DNG in something like Lightroom and you'll be fine.