SL or M-D. The Agony Of Choice . . .

Hero To Zero

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hoping I've posted this in the correct forum.

Gooday everyone and I'm looking to pick the collective mind of the Leica Forum - whether to buy into the SL (mk1) or M-D system. Firstly though, a short back story.

I'm not a newcomer to the Leica Forum, or Leica for that matter.

Around 4 years ago and for the 15 or so preceding that, I was an enthusiastic street photographer, shooting Leica M's exclusively (M2, CL (x3), M5, M6, M8 (x2), M-E). Indeed at the time, I produced a blog concerning street photography, and even tested several Leica's - on one occasion being invited to Leica Mayfair (along with 5 others), to appraise a prototype version of the SL.

Four years ago however, I made the decision to alter my entire life beyond recognition, embarking on a new path, ultimately leading back to the forum and this post. :)

Now with some cash to burn, I'm ready to dabble in still-images again, on a 'hobby' basis, though some pictures will more than likely be included in various video projects I am and will be working on.

So the question - Leica SL (mk1) or Leica M-D?

Initially I was drawn to the M-D, having previously tested the M60 for an article (and prophesying an inevitable production model -though Leica denied this at the time :)). I particularly enjoyed the camera's immediate similarity and experience to shooting film - one which became comfortable, very quickly.

Having shot a good selection of M's, the overriding factor was of course, 'that' viewfinder.

But then I was swayed by the Fujifilm GFX50R, especially for it's size and form factor, the sensor and resolution and of course, the price.

However, it wasn't long before I uncovered tales of haphazard AF, though I am mainly an MF guy. Sadly, I then read that MF with this camera is frequently difficult to nail, so the GFX50R fell by the wayside.