Delta 400 in Rodinal - Dev Time?

Keith (M)

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Delta 400 in Rodinal - dev times? I was given a roll of 35mm Delta 400, a film I have never used before (for ISO 400 I generally use Tri-X). MassiveDev app for Delta & Rodinal 1:50 states 20mins - which seems a rather long time to me. Anyone any experience of processing Delta 400 in Rodinal?

PS - am not in a position to use anything other than Rodinal.

My 20-year-old Ilford Data Guide says 18 minutes for Delta 400 at ISO 400 in Rodinal 1:50 - but Rodinal has probably been slightly reformulated since then, in transitioning from Agfa (RIP) to Adox. If Ilford today thinks 20 minutes is better, I'd go with that.

Anyway - yes, at 1:50 dilution there is darn little developer actually in the can - it will take longer to produce a given silver density (TANSTAAFL). Rodinal was originally designed (a century ago or more) for the 1:25 dilution as standard - but many photographers decided that they preferred the longer tonal range (compensated development) of 1:50 or even 1:100, so those have become a "standard" of their own. They work - they just take longer.

Always remember that Delta 400 (like TMax 400) has significantly different physical chemistry of the pre-exposed silver crystals compared to Tri-X. So while the ISO is the same, don't assume the development times will be similar.

In exchange for generally-finer grain, TMax and Delta take longer to develop and to fix - the pancake crystals are just not as responsive to the chemistry. And are much "pickier" about precise development - timing, dilution, temperature. Although my experience is that Delta is sort of "in between" TMax and Tri-X - not quite as "high-strung" but also not quite as fine-grained. Good tones.

• Thanks 2

I use Rodinal a lot with FP4 at 8 minutes for 1:25 and find that 8 to 9 minutes is about the right general time for most 125 iso films.