NRKstudio

SL2 issue with exposure simulation in Manual mode

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Disclaimer: I am very new to the SLx firmware, so it may be user error here, but thanks in advance if you can solve this issue.  

Does anyone have an idea how to turn on permanent exposure simulation when the camera is in Manual mode ( set aperture, set shutter speed, auto iso)?  The SL2 will not preview the exposure even when the shutter is half way pressed.  I think it’s the autoISO that is disabling the exp preview in Manual mode.  When you use exposure compensation in Manual mode, it doesn’t change the look of the preview on the lcd at all, the exposure doesn’t seem to change until you take a picture and then see the screen as all black or washed out.  

I had the same problem with the Q2, I posted there a few months ago without a solid answer to the issue.  

Even when the exposure simulation is set to PASM, the exposure (f stop, shutter speed and iso) is not simulated when looking at the rear LCD or through the view finder.  

On the M10-p, this is not the same deficiency of exposure preview at all.  On the M, With the shutter set, the aperture set (manual lens of course), and the iso on Auto, you can change the Ev compensation and watch the preview react by brightening or darkening without having to half press the shutter.  The live view reflects the shot you are actually taking, unlike the SL2 which does not display how bright or dark the shot is going to come out.  

@jonoslack I hate to bother you again, but seeing as you are the resident Leica expert, please see the post above for my question regarding the exposure simulation settings.  I have yet to find an answer to this on this forum and elsewhere.  Thank you! @sean_reid (if this is in fact your username) your help is always appreciated ! 

2 minutes ago, NRKstudio said: