HarleyTusk

Very Basic, How do you set the Aperture?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I’m new to photography and to Leica.

I just got a M10p and I’m a little intimidated. I still don’t have a lens yet (getting by next week)

The quick start instructions labels the large, main setting wheel as the “Shutter Speed Setting Wheel”.  And the other wheel as the “ISO Setting wheel”  

How & where do you set the Aperture? 

Please post anything you think may be useful to a beginner about using the M10p!

Thanks!

I would strongly advise you to work your way through the Leica M FAQ.  Although some posts are specific to older models, many address the questions you will run into and there are useful tips and techniques.

Hello Harley,

Welcome to the Forum. Enjoy your new camera & lens.

Your camera should come with an instruction book that explains about aperture settings & a lot more. If not you should be able to get 1 from Leica in Wetzlar Germany. Try reading it both with & without the camera & practice doing different things with the camera such as setting the aperture, shutter speed & focusing.

Photography is like a lot of other things: The more you practice, with & without actually taking pictures, the better you get. Because as you become more comfortable doing the mechanical & computational parts of photography: The more they will become second nature, which will allow you to concentrate more on other things.

And don't forget to ask questions here on the Forum. This is a good place to do that.

Best Regards,

Michael

Edited by Michael Geschlecht

This is a bit like someone who just got their driver's license going out to buy a Ferrari and then asking how to shift gears. I mean, without a fundamental understanding of aperture, how would one even choose a lens? How is a summilux different than a summarit (other than price)?