My Leica M2 with M3 serial number on top

zimsam

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I'm very new to leica cameras. I'm curious my leica M2 has M3 serial number on top. Please see attached images. I've looked around the internet but didn't see anyone with this issue.

Here is M2/M3 serial number list that I found.

M2
949401   950000    Leica M2 (chrom)    1959    600
956501   957000    Leica M1^^    1959    [500]
959501   960200    Leica M2 Vorlaufwerk    1959    700

M3
951901   952000    Leica M3 ELC    1959    100
952501   954800    Leica M3    1959    2300
954801   954900    Leica M3 ELC    1959    100

Would greatly appreciate any help, thank you!

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by zimsam

Curious. Perhaps your best bet is to send an email to Leica directly and see what they make of this. 

I for one will be quite interested in hearing what they have to say. Good luck!

Edited by Rus

I note that your M2 is a so-called button rewind version (you have to press the button at the front for being able to rewind, rather than switching a small lever to the rewind position, as with the M3 and later M2 models). To the best of my knowldge, only very early M2 cameras had that button rewind feature. But the serial number of your camera does not appear to correspond to an early M2 (or M3 for that matter), so this is indeed a little dubious.

Cheers,

Andy

I think yours is not the very first version as it has a self timer, mine doesn’t and is 944***

the self timer was an optional extra during the serial number period yours comes from (see next picture from the Denis Laney collectors book). If it was optional perhaps that accounts for the serial number coming from an M3 batch, an M2 with self timer special order?

Edited by Pyrogallol