Sign in to follow this  
eev776

Q2 vs. CL which one to buy?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm new to Leica after 20 years of SONY a7R / Nikon user, trying to decide what camera to get CL or Q2, what do you guys think? 

In Los Angeles, California, I do architectural photography / landscapes / street photography, I use to my good set of Zeiss and wide Voigtlander wide lenses, love zoom lenses 240mm., and I like 36mpx quality.

Night city scape photography is very important for me as well, to get city panoramas with all those little windows lights at night.

CL and lenses it offers is fantastic for me, but APS-C is freaks me out even though images I took with CL where really impressive quality wise.

Q2 is looks like a great camera with great resolution, but fixed lens.

Hard to choose, any suggestions? Let me know! 

19 minutes ago, LocalHero1953 said:

Are you expecting different replies from the other thread?

Yes, I'm wondering what people from Q thread can tell.

Just my 2 cents:

From Nikon to the Leica CL, you're stepping down in every single aspect, save price.

For serious architecture, I would use a Nikon System with tilt-shift lenses.

If you prefer the Sony for whatever reason, you could use Canon T/S lenses with an adapter.

I have never seen a single compelling reason why anyone would want to buy a Leica CL. It's probably the worst example for an overpriced status symbol. (Same goes for the SL, I'd rather spend my money on an S system, or an M)

The Q is, among many non-Leica reviewers, one of the most justifiable cameras from Leica, because it delivers according to the asking price.

However, the Q is most definitely NOT suited as an architectural camera. There's just too much distortion to deal with.

20 minutes ago, mbphotox said:

Just my 2 cents:

From Nikon to the Leica CL, you're stepping down in every single aspect, save price.

For serious architecture, I would use a Nikon System with tilt-shift lenses.