CL vs. Q2 which one to purchase?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I'm new to Leica after 20 years of SONY a7R / Nikon user, trying to decide what camera to get CL or Q2, what do you guys think? 

In Los Angeles, California, I do architectural photography / landscapes / street photography, I use to my good set of Zeiss and wide Voigtlander wide lenses, love zoom lenses 240mm., and I like 36mp quality.

CL and lenses it offers is fantastic for me, but APS-C is freaks me out even though images I took with CL where really impressive quality wise.

Q2 is looks like a great camera with great resolution, but fixed lens.

Hard to choose, any suggestions? Let me know! 

Depends entirely on your wishes. Do you want a top-class point and shoot with a fantastic lens and high resolution or do you want a top class versatile small APS-C camera that can take almost any lens, is optimized for M and R lenses and has a good range of native lenses?

• Like 5

For me it wouldn’t be a choice at all. The CL is the first APS-C camera from which I’ve seen results that can hardly be distinguished from M photo’s. So your idea that APS-C is inferior is obsolete. You forget that to have the full benefit of the three focal lengths (which is in fact eyewash) with a Q you crop a lot which is less image quality. Besides, I have mostly been able to tell the difference between an M photo and a Q photo in favor of M. The Q is very much money for value. You also tell that you like a lot of lenses, zooms, tele. Why would you consider a Q at all? Very nice camera to see indeed. 

• Like 1

You will receive many contrary answers. It would be well worth your while searching this forum for previous discussions and examples of work achieved. Personally I find the CL more versatile, giving you even wider angles if needed for architecture. The two cameras are not mutually exclusive.

• Like 1