M8.2 Appreciation

Afairall

I'm not a professional and I still have my M8 purchased brand new very early 2009. Leica offered a rebate because the M8.2 was available. It did not get much use (almost 1050 clicks now) but it's the only digital Leica camera from which I have had prints made and hese prints are gorgeous and does not look digital. In 2012 it went to Leica for pixel remapping of the sensor. Used my M8 once earlier this year, but within two weeks I'll attend an M camera- workshop organized by the local Leica dealer. My love for the M8 may receive a boost.

Best

• Like 1

At the time of its release it has also been recognized that the IQ is indeed stunning for a 10Mp sensor. After all these years of pixel rat-racing though and anticipatory disappointment over an SL2 which would not deliver at least 46Mp, we can see now even better how relative such preoccupations can be. Although it remains a mystery to me how this works in the M8. I wonder also if its competitors from that time, Sony, Canon, Nikon, are still functioning today. 

I sold mine because of the ado with the magenta filters, but the not-FF of the M8 had great advantages with some lenses too. I never liked my Summicron 28 asph mk1 as much as on the M8.2 and this counted for my Summilux 50 asph too. Typically enough I sold these lenses after I acquired the M9.

• Like 1

If I have to shoot, I take my Sony A7III
If I want to shoot, I take my M8.2

😉

I use my M8.2 every week 2 or 3 times

There is a M8/M8.2 community with over 2100 members on Facebook: 
https://www.facebook.com/groups/326047637595813/

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by satijntje
  • Like 4
  • Thanks 1

@otto.f: " Although it remains a mystery to me how this works in the M8. I wonder also if its competitors from that time, Sony, Canon, Nikon, are still functioning today.  "