Around the World With:

ktmrider2

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I posted a similar thread a few weeks ago over on Rangefinder Forum but thought I would update it here.  I am not completely sure which forum I should put it on but lenses seemed like a good choice.

I am leaving for a six month trip around the world in three days.  I have been dabbling in Leica's since 1974 when I acquired a CL and have pretty much owned all film Leicas up to the M7.  Anyway, I will be taking an MP240 with three lens which are the Zeiss 25f2.8 Biogon, 50f1.2 Nokton, and 90f2.8 Elmarit.  The 25 and 90 are small and light.  The 50f1.2 is a recent (two days ago) purchase to replace the 50f1.1 which needs a calibration.  I have shot the 50f1.2 a lot over two days mostly wide open.  Wow, I can see why it is getting accolades all over the internet.  I have had several suggestions to take something wider than the 25  but honestly I don't get on with extreme wide angle lenses and gave away or sold both the 15 and 21 so 25 just works for me.

I will probably throw the EVF for the MP240 in the bag since it is so small and light.  I prefer the optical finder on the M and it is the main reason I have been using Leicas for almost 45 years.    The 50f1.2 seems to be spot on with the MP240's rangefinder but the EVF should provide nice backup with all three lenses.