Which M lens as a start?

m9photo

I just bought a really nice used SL and 24-90 lens from the Leica SoHo NYC store. I purchased the M adapter with it. 

I started shooting my Noctilux 50mm f0.95 lens with the SL and adapter. OMG, it is so much easier to focus. The focus peaking works great. The SL is more responsive than the kludgy Visoflex and Live View on my M10 to do the same thing.

Since the sensor on the SL and M10 are similar, I can't tell which camera shot which image without looking at the metadata. Very cool.

Regards,
Bud James

Please check out my fine art and travel photography at www.budjames.photography or on Instagram at www.instagram.com/budjamesphoto.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

• 2 weeks later...

I think it might be time to come back to earth for a moment and recommend a few lenses at more modest prices:

* Voigtländer 40mm f/1.2 Nokton Aspherical Lens - Leica M Mount

* Leica 35mm Summicron-M ASPH

... both are very sharp edge to edge and are good general purpose lenses.

• Like 1

On 9/6/2019 at 7:24 AM, biogon said:

I personally prefer version IV (or III), but any 50 Summicron would be a perfect M lens to start, IMHO.

I find the Summicron R 50 even better fitting, but it does not fit as an answer (the user asked for a M lens). 🤕   I use a R to M adapter to make it fit.

Edited by caissa
  • Like 1

On 9/26/2019 at 1:17 AM, caissa said:

I find the Summicron R 50 even better fitting, but it does not fit as an answer (the user asked for a M lens). 🤕   I use a R to M adapter to make it fit.