Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everybody

I am new to the Leuca Q system. I would like to try one of the 3 types, but I'm not sure which one.

• What are the pros and cons points?
  • What is the difference between the Q and Q-P?

Do not leave me ignorant ......

PS: I own M8's and Mono Typ 246

Edited by analog-digital

The Q is 24 MP, the Q2 is 47 MP.

The Q2 therefore gives, theoretically, somewhat better image quality and more scope for cropping, but at the cost of having to manipulate huge files.

The Q gives image quality that is more than good enough for most users.

You can easily compare the Q and the Q-P on the Leica  site.

Unfortunately, the technical details of the Q and Q-P can not be compared side by side on the Leica homepage.

I assume Q and Q-P are 90% equal. But what are the remaining 10%? Q-P = Q-Professional ??

It's also about whether the Q / Q-P is something really different (except megapixels), which really annoys.

Edited by analog-digital

36 minutes ago, analog-digital said:

Unfortunately, the technical details of the Q and Q-P can not be compared side by side on the Leica homepage.

I assume Q and Q-P are 90% equal. But what are the remaining 10%? Q-P = Q-Professional ??

It's also about whether the Q / Q-P is something really different (except megapixels), which really annoys.

See my reply above.

• 3 months later...
On 9/3/2019 at 5:40 AM, LondonL said:

I just purchased my first Leica and went for the Q-P. Personally I do not need 47mp and I love the Q-P design, it’s stunning and an absolute joy to shoot with.

Sadly, I think this is a gateway to more Leica in the future 

I did exactly the same ..... I couldn’t be happier with the Q-P - looks or performance. The main thing though is how it makes me feel - no other modern camera has this level of “soul”.... 

Like londonL, I see much spending on the horizon 🙂

Q2 upgrades in red -

Leica Q2 at a glance

• 47 MP CMOS Sensor
  • New Maestro image processor