matteolesinigo

Leica CL, buy now or wait?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I am an amateur with passion for technology and last year I sold my old Nikon D800 with few lenses.
At the time I was undecided between the CL and the Sony A7 III and I opted for the latter due to the supposedly superior technical specs. I had the occasion to use it few times but did not fall in love with it, the ergonomy is not engaging and the feeling with the camera is not great. Moreover with couple lenses I got back to a bulky set that I am rarely taking.

Considering again to sell everything to get the CL and targeting the 3 zoom lenses. I have seen good used deals for both the camera and the lenses but am a bit worried that a CL2 will come out this year given the upgrade lifecycle of the T/TL/TL2 for which maximum interval was about 2 years.

Any suggestions?

thanks a lot

Matteo

:Leica usually runs on 3-4 year cycles. Basically your question is: shall I start taking photographs with gear I like now or in a couple of years? There is no guaranty that a CL2 will be a sensible upgrade for you. See the Q2: plenty of owners sticking with the Q.

Posted (edited)

The CL as it is highly regarded. If a new model appears, it will be some time before readily available. Buy pre-owned at a good price!  The lenses are 'forever', so no worries there.

Edited by ropo54

The CL as it is performs well enough that I am not at all concerned if a new model appears. I'll probably stick with what I have, unless there's a HUGE improvement in one thing or another. I don't expect a replacement model, other than perhaps 'special editions' for at least two more years. 

What shall they upgrade? The sensor? Nothing new around the block, see Sony's newest milc announcement with the same 24MP sensor. 

Buy now if you have an enjoyable shooting experience with it. 

I agree with the advice given above.