So how many kilo of Leica, do you take into the Alps?

Paulus

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Being just an amateur, I sat at the Italian restaurant together with my wife. The waiter asked:" So how many liters of wine do you want to start with, two, three liters red, or white?" As we were to go on a heavy hike the next day, we skipped the wine. The waiter gave us as a free desert a glas of absint.....so much for the good preparation?

Being an amateur, I walked the paths in the mountain from 1600 meter till 2780 meters with my Billingham, a bottle of water, a M 10 and and M 240 and two lenses. A 21mm and a 50mm. At the top of the mountain, the bag felt a little bit heavier than normal. 

Thinking of going back for some more days, hiking and staying at Refugios/ huts I was thinking about kilo's going up the mountain. Is it time for one camera , one lens ? How do you do it? 

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

• Like 1

Trip to lake Goletta , Aosta region Italy. 

• Like 2

I would only take the M10 if you have a spare battery but keep both lenses. Or take both cameras and only the 21mm. If you have a good tripod you could also use only the 50mm and stitch some photos together in lr if you need any wider shots.

Leave one of the cameras out, take the other one and both lenses.

Buy a backpack, it's a far more comfortable way of carrying cameras and essentials, especially on the hill. .  Billingham bags, or any other shoulder bag for that matter, are not designed for mountain walking and in some situations such as narrow paths with steep drop-offs, scrambling and downclimbing are potentially dangerous because these bags are not stable on your body.