stan k

Stan K

2 hours ago, Stan K said:

My LCD screen is failing.  Have purchased a new one, but now need help on how to install it on my Leica X1 - can any one help me.

thank you

I have no experience of an X1 LCD failing.  Can you expand on the nature of the problem?

Have you asked your dealer or Leica in Germany?  There might also be a fault in the allied circuitry.

The screen is growing dark, can't ask anyone as I purchased this from a dealer.  the camera is 10 years old.  Have called Leica and was told they do not give this kind of info out because of  liability. Been on youtube, but there is nothing out there on how to take the X1 apart.  Leica very close lipped on this.  I have purchased a new LCD screen and that is why I am asking how to install it,  thanks for asking

7 hours ago, Stan K said:

The screen is growing dark, can't ask anyone as I purchased this from a dealer.  t.....screen and that is why I am asking how to install it,  thanks for asking

If your dealer was a Leica dealer he probably would have offered you a short warranty,  say three months. The fault should have been evident during that time giving you the option of returning the camera.

I have owned an X1 since it was first launched and cannot recall one incident of a failed LCD. Digilux 2 - yes. M8 - yes. In contrast,  the X1 has been remarkably reliable hence the paucity of experience in user-replaced  LCDs.

My  advice would be to refer back to the vendor and share the cost of a Leica repair.

6 minutes ago, Stan K said:

thank you for your advice,  the camera was on consignment only at the dealers, hence he had nothing to do with the problem.  I was told of the problem when I purchased it

I have to Ask, Why purchase an Iffy Camera?  There are 100's of good used cameras to choose from!..

Advertisement (gone after registration)

47 minutes ago, Stan K said: