contrast differentiation between few lenses

jaeger

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I shoot 30+ years and recent few years gone serious in photography.  I am a Leica noob, I've been using M for only 1+ year (since last March) and I've finally got the focusing issue fixed, and now I can see the IQ at different distant, lighting, aperture, etc...  I own 4 Leica lenses on MP240 and I shoot wide open most of the time unless over exposure, shooting product, studio or shooting landscape.  My work are mostly portrait & headshot.

Here are my observations when shooting wide open.

1) 24mm lux, IQ is fine when uncropped, however, if I start to crop, then detail and contrast are badly diminishing as going further and further.

2) 35mm lux last version I think it's V3?, same as 24 but better.

3) 50mm lux, I cannot complain.  I wish all my Leica lenses perform like this.  It's sharp, high contrast and I can crop and crop and still good.

4) 90mm cron, as sharp as 50mm lux but must lower contrast in comparison.  However, it's fixable using LR. 

My question....

I might have wrong expectations because I kind of using the 50mm lux as standard and expecting other lenses perform similar.  I know wide angle lenses can't go as sharp but I was expecting better because it's price tag.  Anyway, are my observations true or something is wrong with these lenses (or something wrong with my brain lol)?

I wish to hear your thoughts if your shooting style is similar and owning similar lenses.  Thank you.

Edited by jaeger

No experience with the Summilux 24/1.4 asph but do you mean 35, 50 & 90 asph or pre-asph lenses? If you mean pre-asph it's normal that your pics look a bit soft at full aperture but not that much with the 90/2 if it's a v2 (big lens).

3 hours ago, jaeger said: