Sign in to follow this  
Dsauro

S lens MTF charts

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Looking for a bit of education regarding the MTF lens charts.

i think it’s great that Leica posts the MTF charts for their s lens via their website or through lens description downloads.  In reading various literature on how to interpret MTF charts, certain discussions suggest that reviewing MTF charts should be taken with a grain of salt.  The articles suggest that lens makers publish MTF charts in combination with the use of their camera sensor.  Meaning, canon lens MTF charts are optimized, or perhaps skewed, based on the performance of the lens when complimented by a canon sensor.

Can anyone help me understand if Leica basis their lens MTF performance in a similar fashion.  Or are Leica MTF charts “agnostic” and based solely on lens performance (without sensor optimization)?

In general, I find Leica's MTF pretty accurate, but I am not an optical scientist. Leica is one of the few optical manufacturers to provide measured MTF data, rather than theoretical. So they are taking actual lenses they have made and posting that data. One thing to be aware of, however, is that MTF are the measure of the contrast in a flat field. Sometimes manufacturers choose to make a lens with a more curved field, particularly with wider lenses. The 70mm Summarit exhibits this behavior. In the real world, sometimes this is something that people prefer, as three dimensional compositions often feature detail closer to the camera at the sides, with the central point a bit further away. Personally, I prefer flat field lenses, but they are not the best for all situations. The MTF of curved field lenses often look very sharp on center, but then drop rather sharply towards the edges. They might still be able of rendering really sharp detail, just not at the same focused distance as the center. In general, MTF can be dangerous because a lot of people use them as the sole judge of a lenses performance