I exchange one Leica lens for a Zeiss one ... The SOUND of choices

Dennis

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hola everyone!

I had a hunch! And I made a lens exchange with a colleague. I changed my Elmarit 28mm for a Zeiss C Biogon T 35mm F2.8. Of course, I got also some very good money because of the difference in price ($2,300 vs $900 approx).

I tested already and I'm incredibly happy with the result. I'm new in the world of Rangefinder, I only owned an Elmarit for one year, and now this one. I always used lenses for SLR and DSLR. So I'm very newbie.

I was so surprised (in a very good way) about the Zeiss contrast, details, sharpening and almost the lack of imperfections... Wow... so light, small but soooo powerful. I'm a 35mm guy, I always have been. I got a 28mm with my first Leica (M10) because my plan was a 28+50 combo. One lens first, then later the 50mm. I didn't resist and I made the change. And I was 100% happy about it.

I like the 35mm frames better than the 28mm. And the focus ring range is better, shortest. I like 1/3 aperture stops etc....

But the lens comes with a detail...  check the videos here

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/2y1inj9cq2tj8w6/AACwHw27CsRg6uhz1OTwKjBJa?dl=0&lst=

... you will understand it better.

Check also this video at 1'08" 

The little four screws are tight. And of course, most important... The lens performance is almost perfect, better than any Nikon I ever had 🙂 It works great. But it feels like is weak or more delicate, do you know what I mean

Thanks in advance for your time

• My Summilux 35/1.4 FLE rattles as well. It is a well known issue. Nothing to worry about.
• My ZM 35/2.8 has not the same problem as yours. It may benefit from a CLA.

Edited by lct
  • Like 1

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I got it! So if the lens works perfectly (the performance is amazing), I would probably accept it, embrace it and live happily right?