2-lens kit choice

PPENHABRASIL

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello everyone,

I'm new to this forum and still a little unsure on how proceed...

I'm also new to Rangefinder photography (used an SLR and DSLR for many years and have recently decided to "downsize" do the M-System) and wanted to get some opinions on lenses. I know lenses are an extremely personal choice, but I thought I could get some feedback from you kind folks out here about what you would recommend as a 2-lens kit.

I am a big fan of 50s (that's always been my favourite distance), but, with the (D)SLRs, I always had a zoom option (either 24-105 or 24-70).

Currently, I'm using a M-240 with a 50 Summilux, but am considering either adding another lens to the kit (especially for travelling - maybe a 28 Summicron?) or maybe trying my hand at 35 photography (that way I can stay with only one lens?).

I must confess that I really don't like carrying many lenses around, so two would definitely be the most (one ideally). Like I said, I love my 50, but I've never been tied down to a single distance before and I'm wondering how much I'm going to miss something wider (I know I won't miss the zoom). My photography is mostly focused on street and travel and it's especially in the latter where I'm afraid I might miss the versatility of my old zoom lenses.

Any thoughts on this would be greatly appreciated!

The 28 Summicron (or Summilux) would be my choice.  For documentary, travel and street photography I have found that 90% or more of my image making is done with 28mm and 50mm focal lengths.  A 21mm would be a good third lens, but I could easily function with just my 28 and 50.

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1

One day, I mounted on her M to try it out my prefered lens Tri-Elmar-M 28-35-50.

Since then IT became her favorite, so I miss this "universal lens" when lighting is right.

Now, I try to compensate with 28/35/50 + 75 ( mainly in Summarit-M/Elmarit-M varieties) in three or two lenses combos :