EVF lag?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have been enjoying my new CL for 3 months now.  In particular, the autofocus means I am no longer discarding shots for want of accurate focus.

On the other hand, I seem to have many pics taken just after the intended moment.  For example, as the subject starts to blink, turn away or change expression.  This has reduced the number of 'keepers' I get.   It does not appear to be shutter lag.  When I press the shutter the camera seems to react quickly enough.  I wonder if there is an "EVF lag" which means the viewfinder is a few microseconds behind the actual image? 

With the M cameras I have been using, the view through the OVF is continuous and uninterrupted, so I never had this problem.  When photographing people or actions I could select the precise moment for the exposure, usually with success.

Has anyone else noticed this, or come across measurements for the delay time of the CL?  Would appreciate hearing.

19 minutes ago, rob_w said:

I have been enjoying my new CL for 3 months now.  In particular, the autofocus means I am no longer discarding shots for want of accurate focus.

On the other hand, I seem to have many pics taken just after the intended moment.  For example, as the subject starts to blink, turn away or change expression.  This has reduced the number of 'keepers' I get.   It does not appear to be shutter lag.  When I press the shutter the camera seems to react quickly enough.  I wonder if there is an "EVF lag" which means the viewfinder is a few microseconds behind the actual image? 

With the M cameras I have been using, the view through the OVF is continuous and uninterrupted, so I never had this problem.  When photographing people or actions I could select the precise moment for the exposure, usually with success.

Has anyone else noticed this, or come across measurements for the delay time of the CL?  Would appreciate hearing.