Sign in to follow this  
paul.bridges.3388

Lightroom Q2 RAW problems

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Q2 RAW imports into Lightroom (DNG) are over-saturated red.  Can anyone explain why this is happening?  Is it a problem with the camera profile applied during conversion?  What is the favoured setting?

I’m really struggling to adjust this in post without screwing up the image elsewhere.  

As a newbie, i know just enough to be dangerous (apologies).

Can anyone share their workflow/settings perhaps?

Not having a Q2 and having Lightroom 6.14 (perpetual license), my first assumption is that the CCP (camera calibration profile) is either not there or not optimized for the Q2. That means LR is processing the DNG file using the in-built DNG profile, which in my experience has been off and produces garish colors on various Leica cameras I've used.

Before LR was updated with better profiles for my M-P240, SL, and CL bodies, I used the Xrite color checker and Passport software to create better CCPs: that gives a more balanced color rendering as a default.

Once LR had been updated with the Adobe standard based CCP for these cameras, the default color rendering was fine and I no longer needed the custom profiles I'd created. 

Posted (edited)
25 minutes ago, Jayk said:

Are you using Lightroom Classic V8.2 or 8.3.? I think these are the only versions that support the Q2.

I think an earlier version - probably 6.x.  I’m away from my laptop and will need to check.

Does anyone have experience of V8.x and Q2?

Edited by paul.bridges.3388

1 hour ago, ramarren said:

LR is processing the DNG file using the in-built DNG profile, which in my experience has been off and produces garish colors on various Leica cameras I've used.