Enlargers

fielden

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I hope someone can help.

I have been using an SL and M10P for a while now but have always had a desire to do B&W prints in the darkroom and so I recently bought an M6 and the film processing gear and I am now looking to make the next step and buy an enlarger and the printing gear. I have no intention of ever doing colour as my passion is B&W and have started to look at enlargers on eBay but have no idea what to buy. I don't want to buy anything cheap and have to upgrade later. Rather buy something quality which will last I am not going to outgrow.

There is a vast range on eBay from loads of manufacturers - I would be grateful if someone could point me in the right direction as to which manufacturers and models of enlargers and lenses would be good. Being a Leica man, I have been looking at focomat V3's but really don't know anything and am a complete novice in terms of Darkroom.

Thanks

Graeme

• Like 1

For fifty years my favorite enlargers for 35mm and medium format have been Leitz with Schneider and Rodenstock lenses. I use a Valoy for 35mm and Focomat IIa or IIc for medium format.

Edited by pico
  • Like 1

I spent too long in darkrooms and they hold less attraction for me that they did and so I have not set one up again despite attempts and sometimes thinking it would be great to produce some 'proper' prints again:D. To set one up requires some consideration and researching of what is available in terms of paper - and how much time and effort you want to put into it.