M2 third-party rapid load modification?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi all

I bought a second M2 a couple of weeks ago and it came with what I think is a third-party spool and baseplate modification. You can insert a film without pulling out the spool but it's a bit fiddly and the whole mechanism is rather tight and adds notable drag to the wind and rewind (metal spool on plastic support). I've attached a couple of quick phone shots that should hopefully be clear. There is no manufacturers name so I'd love to know if anyone can identify this and perhaps there's some trick to usage that I've not yet spotted.

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by convexferret

Hello Convexferret,

Welcome to the Forum.

I have been using exactly 1 of these since the 1970's. Mine works just fine.

To use this pretty much seamlessly: Beginning with no film in the camera:

If the left side of the mouth of the snail is far from 09:00 (Think clock.): Pull the snail out by the shiny flanged cylinder that falls down when you hold the camera in "landscape" position. If the shiny flanged cylinder does not slide down easily: Pull it down with your finger nail. That is what the flange is for. Push the snail back in the camera with the left side of the mouth at 09:00.

Or, if the snail in the camera has the left side of its mouth near 09:00

Put your thumb in the mouth of the snail & rotate the snail until the left lip of the snail is at 09:00.

Pull out enough of the film leader to go about 2/3 of the way around the snail. Not more & not less.

Then push the film in until it is properly aligned with the guard rails which you can see quite easily by lifting up the back of the camera while you are doing all of this.