stvn66

M3 vs iiig

Advertisement (gone after registration)

If you were given the choice between a Leica iiig and a Leica M3 which would you choose and why?

Posted (edited)

In my view it would depend on which lens comes with as I use the two cameras since very long time:

- IIIg is nice with screw mount lens 😉 and IIIg more compact than M ( those screw mount lenses can also be used with M3 + adapter , not the case with IIIg for M lenses)

- M3 is very nice with M mount lens mainly 50mm Summicron or Summilux-M this latter is very scarse in screw mount,

or for the best combo Noctilux + M3 is a must (so IIIg is not in this case be able to use Noctilux 😋).

not M3 but M4 has same dimensions,

IIIg is handsome 😇

Edited by a.noctilux

Posted (edited)

I feel that the iiig is the most beautiful camera I have ever seen and used but is the M3 a much superior camera ?

I am not a professional so I image all the lens are quite similar for fun purposes.

Edited by stvn66

You can get excellent images with either. While the later M mount Summicrons are improved, the screw mount is still very capable, if in good condition. The IIIg is also nice with the 50mm f2.8 Elmar, which was introduced at the same time as the IIIg. I use this combination and like it. There are also modern Voigtlander lenses for the IIIg, including a very nice 50mm f1.5 that I also use on M mount cameras with an adapter. However, that lens is quite large for the IIIg.

The main difference it the viewfinder/rangefinder. The M models have a much larger "window" viewfinder that includes the rangefinder in the center spot. The IIIg window doesn't give as broad a view, but accommodates 50 & 90 mm "frames" for those lenses. The rangefinder on the IIIg  has a separate eyepiece, so you have to shift your eye between them to frame and focus. While I like to carry and use the IIIg (or earlier models), I find the M series much easier to use because of the viewfinder.