rosuna

A replacement for Lightroom?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have Lightroom for photo management and "development", but I will not pay a subscription-based application. I am not a professional photographer.

Lightroom was an ideal program because:

- It is fast.

- It manages files quite nicely (including a "faces" recognition feature).

- Rendering is high quality.

- It is easy to use with great "automatic" adjustments (using artificial intelligence).

- It has all the tools I need, and the design and operation of them is just perfect.

Anyway, I have looked for alternatives. I would like to share my experiences here.

- Luminar 3 is an amateurish program. Too slow. Too many toy-tools, and it lacks several central tools Lightroom has. It is presented like "LR replacement", but it is not. The price is very low. 

- ON1 Raw is another amateurish program. Too many toy-tools but lacking several key tools.

- Affinity Photo is a replacement for Photoshop. Too complex and no file management capabilities.

- Apple Photos is OK, but it lacks features, it is Mac only and this app is liked to the operative system (you cannot download it separately). So for the last version you need the last OS. A shame Aperture support ended and Apple did not sell this software to another company.

- Capture One is too expensive and too complex. It lacks fast and easy operation for quick retouching. But it excels in any other field. Great program.

- DxO Photolab is the best alternative to LR in my opinion, but a little bit pricey. You have to pay extra price for special features: Film Pack, Perspective Control and Corrections. But the basic version is 95% of all I need. The rendering quality is the best, easy to use and fast. The only problem is camera support. They use a camera+lens "profiles" approach, so they are slow extending the list of cameras supported. For instance: no Leica M8 support and no support yet for M10-D or Leica CL.