Q/Q2 decision

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello all,

First post here but have learned a great deal from reading. I had a Q for a short time a year or so ago and loved it but had hoped it could be a one camera solution which it wasn't for me. I now have the SL with 24-90 which is fabulous for all my needs but of course the size has to be considered. I would like something smaller for travel though so have ordered a Q2. I have a trip coming up shortly and had hoped the Q2 would arrive in time but its doubtful. My question is, do you think it would be foolish to purchase a QP (currently about $4400) or better to wait for the Q2. I do not print often and for the types of shots I would anticipate from my intended use, wouldn't be large prints in any case. Thus the increase in megapixels isn't a huge deal. Do you expect that they will continue to make the original Q or just sell out what's on hand. I have little experience with their model strategy.

Another option I have considered is a 35mm summicron M for the SL to make a more manageable travel size. I would be open to other suggestions on a lens for the SL as I wonder if the cron would be awkwardly small on the SL. Cost is a consideration but not a deal breaker as I expect to keep whatever I buy long term.

Thanks for your thoughts.

Mark, welcome to the forum.

I echo Dan Cook's question above. The CL is perfect as a low-weight low-bulk camera and is most versatile; even capable of using lenses you have for your SL  Research of many relevant threads on this forum would help you decide the way forward. As for buying a Q-P, surely that will not work well for you as you have already proved when owning the Q.

Remember, Q2 shares the same battery as SL which would be really convenient for traveling.  Buying a 35mm lens for the SL still makes for a good size camera compared to the Q2.  Finally, having a Q2 along with your SL provides a nice backup in the event of a failure.  Just my 2 cents. 

Steve Huff: