Purchase used Leica M-P (Typ 240) ​?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Greetings, I am doing some research on buying a used M.  I am not a pro, just a devotee since my father used them, and I can now afford it. 

I have 3 main questions surrounding purchasing a used Leica and I am thinking about buying a M-P (Typ 240).

1. Do reputable photo houses refurbish the camera's or send them to Leica for a certified-used designation?

2. Are there more reputable stories to purchase from?   I am dubious about eBay.  What about B&H in New York, Tamarkin seems overpriced with little inventory.  Can anyone make recommendations?

3. What should I look for.  Someone told at a photo store that Leica cannot provide the number of actuations.  Is that right?  I basically don't want to spend >$4000 on a something that has 100, 000 miles on it, so to speak. 

Thank you all for your feedback.

I bought my M262 and a 28mm lens from Tamarkin and their prices for those particular second-hand items were actually lower than the average online prices at the time.

With used Leicas, the price seems greatly influenced by how many scratches and dings are visible. I would guess that the higher priced offerings from the bigger dealers are in virtually like-new condition. With my 262, the original owner had removed the protective plastic film from the bottom plate, plus the model info sticker, resulting in some bare-metal scratches in the black paint. That alone probably knocked $1500 off the resale value of the camera.

As for shutter actuations, in the absence of an actual count, physical wear provides the only clues. I'm sure that most dealers have their used cameras checked, calibrated, cleaned and software updated, but I doubt that they perform a full overhaul unless it's really necessary.