Which R should I buy?

Banci

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi everyone, I'm new to the R world.

I've always used M bodies but they're not the best with telephoto, that's why I'm considering a reflex.

I don't need lots of features, just a good lightmeter; which one do you suggest me? 

Edited by Banci

Please consider acquiring copy of 'LEICA R COMPENDIUM - Handbook of the Leica R System' by Jonathan Eastland … it documents the whole R system . You need to be aware of the various R lens versions' compatibilities with the various R bodies. However, a quick answer is consider a late R body (as distinct from Leicaflex / Leicaflex SL / SL2)  with any 'triple cam' R lens or 'R cam only' R lens.  An R6.2 body would be a good choice with a 50mm Summicron R … either the Mk I 50/2 S'cron provided it's a triple cam model … or the Mk II 50/2 S'cron … latter can be 'triple cam' or 'R cam only' .  Avoid early R4 bodies … the electronics can be dodgy.  Leica R ROM lenses are really only of use with the R8 and R9 cameras … latter are excellent cameras but the R7 and R6 / R6 II are more reliable.  All R7 and prior cameras are getting a bit old and may need mirror housing foam and back door seals replacing . Buy from a reputable dealer to ensure you acquire a decent body. It's a big subject … the book will explain most of it.   Another book worth acquiring is 'Leica Pocket Book 8th Edition' which documents and illustrates all Leica R bodies and R lenses … latter with MTF charts; it's now published by Red Dot Cameras https://www.reddotcameras.co.uk/books/12955-leica-pocket-book-8th-edition-2018-reprint.html

dunk 

Edited by dkCambridgeshire
  • Like 2

I too came to the R system from extensive use with rangefinders.  I have a lot experience with all the Leicaflex models as well as the R6 and R7.  

I would recommend the Leicaflex SL.  It's built like a tank (think M2 and M3 here), but there are two other reasons that it make more desirable then the other R models.