CL with Contax Lens

Ravi

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hello, - my first go at posting on this forum!

I have recently got a CL and although I am still learning with it I am enjoying it immensely and hope I found a camera which will service me well for years to come.

I have a black body, a Leica hand grip and 2 lenses, the 23mm prime and the 18-56 Zoom.

My father was /is a keen photographer and has some beautiful old film cameras and lenses which we get out and fiddle with from time to time.

He has a couple of Hasselblads and also a pair of Contax RTS's which have some Zeiss Planar T* lenses mounted. One of these is a 50mm 1.4 prime which could would have an equivalence of circa 75mm on the CL and hopefully be a lovely portrait lens. Its a really nice compact size and would balance on the CL quite well I think.
Looking through my Dad's RTS, the image is clear and really easy to focus with an oblique prism in the centre. 
I have searched for an adapter and can only find this novoflex adapter on the "speed graphic" website. hopefully the "conrad/Yashica fitting would be OK and the adapter costs £106. It says that it loses all connections but retains infinity focus. What does this mean in English? Can I use aperture priority, let the camera sort out the shutter speed and I will manual focus? Will I see the same split prism focussing aid in the EVF and rear LCD?

I would be very interested in hearing if any other users have experience of a Contax Zeiss Planar lens on the CL body, and also the adapters used.

Thanks in advance!

Ravi.

https://www.speedgraphic.co.uk/body_adapters/novoflex_leica_t_sl_adapter/24630_p.html

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by Ravi
Addition of photo

It's probably best to buy an M Adapter L and then a Contax/Yashica to Leica M mount adapter for the CL. This gives you the most options in use.