Q for dad taking candid photos of little kids.....

MCJ

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I am a total amateur and have been using a DSLR with a 50 prime and a 28-200 telephoto for many years.  SInce I had kids a few years ago, the rather large and heavy DSLR has spent most of its time in my closet - where it takes terrible photos -- so I set out to find a good compact camera.  The internet quickly led me to the Leica Q.  Wow, sticker shock initially led me to say NFW!!  After a few weeks of looking around and thinking, I have come full circle to the Leica Q and am about to buy one.  BUT, I am curious what folks think about the 28mm prime for my main purpose, which is to take candid pictures of my kids, who are young, fast moving and highly uncooperative when they see a camera.  I realize that the 28 will require me to get in closer than I might want to given my kids propensity to look away when they see the camera (which maybe means I am supposed to get something with a little zoom), but if I move to a longer focal length camera, I quickly move away from all the benefits that come along with the Q for a person like me.   is the 28mm prime going to frustrate me considering my primary subjects (the kids....)?

As much as I love my Q, it's not the first camera I'd think of if I had that purpose in mind. You don't have to get as close to the subject as you might think, because it crops quite well. But there is the question of cropping, and with a 28 (actually closer to 26.5) lens, there will be distorting of straight lines in the corners that might need adjusting. Well, that's a lot of extra work for a father of young children. But if you can live with that, I can attest that it's an incredible camera.