Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi.  I'm new to the CL.  It's the first digital camera I've owned that feels like a film camera.  I love it in every respect but I'm afraid of that sensor.  How frequently do you need to clean your sensor?  If I frequently change lenses, does that mean I need to clean it more often?  Does anyone have an idiot proof but effective way of sensor cleaning?  Thanks for you help.  Did I mention how much I like this camera?  Carl

I've dusted off the CL's sensor twice since July. Both times, I just took the lens off, faced the body towards the floor, and blew off the little particles of dirt that were there with a Rocket hand blower. It hasn't needed anything else as yet. 

I generally only find it necessary to do this when I'm going to make photos with one of the pinhole gizmos. That's when any dust on the sensor is going to be most visible. Most of my shooting is at wide open to f/5.6, most of the time, and the image of a dust speck is usually just too diffuse to see. 

No need to be afraid, although the vendors of costly cleaning kits prefer that you quake with fear.

Changing the lens does not automatically bring in noticeable dust. A change in the wind is worse, so get into a car, a building, or a calm nook before you change. Turn the camera off first, of course, and tilt the camera downward.

Clean when you see a problem. As ramarren reports, blowing removes most dust. He uses a Rocket blower. I use a syringe bulb like the one you may have in your medicine cabinet - with a microfiber sheet over the nozzle to keep the dust inside it from contaminating.

If you must use a liquid method, a high-percentage alcohol liquid is good; nothing with ammonia! Swab with a microfiber sheet wrapped over a soft straight edge, for example, the non-working end of an old-fashioned spring-loaded clothespin. Sensor cover glass is tough, so don't be afraid to apply reasonable pressure.

55 minutes ago, Chuck Albertson said:

No canned air.