M7 for professional use - or how to cover a wedding

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi dear colleagues,

some time ago I asked what analog camera you would recommend for pro-use. I got a lot of helpful tips here and finally got a beautiful M7. Now I have shot my first full day wedding coverage with it. 

Tools: Leica M7 (MP viewfinder) with 35 Summicron IV and Artisan 50/1.1. Ilford HP5 pushed to 1600.
(colorimages on Canon AE with 50/1.4 - so just ignore them)
The film was developed in my guest-bathroom (na, now more a little foto-lab)

Over the time of 13 hours I shot 14 rolls of films with the Leica and delivered 400 images. 

I am in love with this incredible camera and could not wish for any better tool to make my job (0:

here you can see the images:

https://just-schmidt.com/analog-wedding-photography/

I have been shooting weddings with the M9 and M240 for 2 years now, so the transition was nearly a piece of cake.

Even the flash work went very well after I trained a bit at home and learned to remember some settings, even for off-camera-use. So I could extrapolate on the fly, depending on circumstances and distance.

Now I am probably going to get a M3 to take my 50, so that I do not need to change lenses.

have fun shooting,

heiko

Welcome, dear visitor! As registered member you'd see an image here…

Simply register for free here – We are always happy to welcome new members!

Edited by frogfish
  • Like 9

getting ready, shot from the "hip"

• Like 4

kid entering the reception hall

• Like 4

off-camera-flash

• Like 5

Guest Nowhereman