Kdkns

Analog camera with digital back?

Advertisement (gone after registration)

Hi, I am new to Leica but have been contemplating getting one for many years. I would like to ask of those of you with experience which camera , Leica Q or Leica M10 May be a right fit for me. 

I’m experienced photographer and the most joy I still have when shooting for my own personal needs is the simplicity of a film camera. My only 35mm film camera I have is a Pentax K1000. I do also have an older canon model but the pure simplicity of aperture, shutter, and a spot meter are all I really need. Even today, I tend to use techniques with focusing in the center and re-framing. 

I have been looking to get a Leica q because it is an all in one package and I like fixed lens camera s and generally shoot primes on my DSLR.  However, the q has both worlds of past and present which may be a good fit. The camera I purchased to fill my Leica need in the past is a Fuji X100T which I absolutely love. The Q I’ve heard is a better version of this camera in every way other than compactness ( protruding lens) 

Saying that, I just looked at reviews of the M10-D and it fits so close to everything that I wanted in simple 35mm camera with relying on fundamentals and only on myself. I would probably get a M10-P because I am still not sure if I could live without a screen, but I have a bad habit of chimping and getting lazy with modern cameras limitless shots. 

For professional work I have a new Fuji XT3, but am not sure if the Q or a M10 would work better to my ideal version. Also I have some very nice film era glass from Pentax ( limited primes ) , that may be good on a Leica body?

Posted (edited)

I’ve not owned or ever used an M10. I did hold one and it seemed heavy to me.