Sign in to follow this  
jaeger

loose lens' sliding hood

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I have an aged lens that has a loose integrated sliding hood, since it's fitted outside of the lens group/barrel, it might not need an expert to do it.   Does anyone know how a DIY trick? 

I am no expert, but I believe this is due to the inner felt progressively wearing out. Also, IIRC, not all sliding hoods are alike in terms of construction and attachment to the barrel - it varies by lens type. For example, the Elmarit-M 90/2.8 seems to be particularly affected by this issue - I had one fixed a few years ago, but that was in the context of a complete CLA, where the lens was entirely dismantled. I know it seems like it should be an easy fix, but I'm not sure that's actually the case. I'd ask Leica or an experienced repair person. If you do, please post your findings.

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

• Recently Browsing   0 members

No registered users viewing this page.

• Similar Content

• By Al Brown
      Tell us about your M lens disasters.
      It is painful even to think about something happening to those precious little gems, let alone experiencing it.
      What was the worst that happened to your M lens?

For me, it was water droplets between elements in my Noctilux 0.95 from a job in Southeast Asia. And I am not counting the french kiss with concrete floor of my 28/2.8 III Mandler Elmarit in Afghanistan.