Questions re M9M Long Exposure

AceVentura1986

Advertisement (gone after registration)

I’ve got the M9M and am planning on a series of long exposure photos. I’ve already got a 6-stop ND filter and and a 3-stop red filter that I plan on stacking. I’ve also ordered a 10-stop ND filter and a cable release that should arrive by week’s end. I’ve never done this before so I have a few questions. 

1. When stacking filters, does the order of stacking matter? In other words, does it matter if the red filter is on the outside exposed to the air or the inside sandwiched between the ND filter and the lens?  

2. What is the upper limit recommended to safely expose the sensor?  Does the camera have a maximum limit before it automatically closes the shutter? I plan on shooting at ISO 400, btw. 

3. I seem to remember that there was a setting that permitted a pseudo-bulb mode without a cable release. As I recall, it permitted the opening of the shutter by pressing the shutter release button and would keep the shutter opened until a light tap of the button again. Can anyone explain this method? 

4. Any other long exposure tips will be greatly welcomed. 

Thanks in advance,

RV

vor 33 Minuten schrieb AceVentura1986:

I’ve got the M9M and am planning on a series of long exposure photos. I’ve already got a 6-stop ND filter and and a 3-stop red filter that I plan on stacking. I’ve also ordered a 10-stop ND filter and a cable release that should arrive by week’s end. I’ve never done this before so I have a few questions. 

1. When stacking filters, does the order of stacking matter? In other words, does it matter if the red filter is on the outside exposed to the air or the inside sandwiched between the ND filter and the lens?  

2. What is the upper limit recommended to safely expose the sensor?  Does the camera have a maximum limit before it automatically closes the shutter? I plan on shooting at ISO 400, btw.