Pingus

Upgrade from X-vario ?

Hi - looking for some advice on the next potential purchase. I’m a longtime X-vario user. I’m a pretty serious amateur artist who uses the camera to take reference photos for my paintings . Take the photo, transfer to a 30’ monitor next to the easel and paint away. Mainly landscapes, some still life and portraits. I’ve noticed some limitations with the x - low lighting, auto focus, cropping to see details, etc. 

I’ve  handled the CL and it’s pretty sweet. Is the improvement over an X Vario worth the inevitable $5-7K investment I’m talking about ? The 18-55 zoom seems like it’s straight off the X Vario. I know technology improves and the sensor is larger.   SL is out of question due to size. Is the bang worth the buck ?

thanks for any feedback ; it’s greatly appreciated 

If you could live with a 28mm lens only, I'd opt for the Leica Q - you'd get full frame, superb low light performance, and fabulous IQ for $4K.   (It will also allow for 35mm and 50mm apsc sized images). 

The 18-56 is not a fast lens but the CL sensor should be more sensitive in low light, so will outperform the X Vario in low light situations. Whether it is worth  $5-7K is your judgment call.  

38 minutes ago, wda said:

Pingus,  welcome to the forum. Yes, owning a CL system opens up a whole new world of opportunities. But first follow this link to my recent thoughts on the Leica Q  http://macfilos.com/photo/2018/11/13/leica-q-28mm-focal-length-as-all-rounder

WDA: I enjoyed reading your review. Your reviews hits the nail on the head" in its discussion of the Q. Rob

Hi Pingus,

I was a delighted XV owner and waited to upgrade to the CL, because like you, I questioned “how much better” could the CL be?