wlaidlaw

Another M7 with a dead/jammed shutter release

I was at a Remembrance event at Kew Gardens today, where a bench made out of the fallen Verdun Oak was unveiled. The first film went through the M7 more or less OK although I had to switch both it and Motor-M off once to clear a fault. However after rewinding and reloading, the shutter is totally jammed and will not release at all, even in the non-electric speeds of 1/60 and 1/125. The wind-on lever is jammed as well. I would guess this will be the usual switch/lock jamming on the release shaft problem, that many M7's have suffered with. The problem is that I had planned to take it on a trip to the USA leaving on the morning of 20th of November. I have contacted Alan Starkie to see if he can do this as an urgent. Even though I am a registered professional with Leica, time is just too short to get it out to Wetzlar, priority repaired and back by the 19th. I supposed I will have to take my M4-P instead. At least I can take the rather bulky and noisy M4-2 winder off and put the Motor-M on the M4-P. I managed to get most of the shots I wanted at the event, so could have been a lot worse and jammed at the beginning. The M7 and Motor-M, both have fresh batteries in them. 

Wilson

Hello Wilson,

Sorry for your problems.

Have you ever had something similar happen when you used the Motor-M on the M4-P before?

If so, you might be cautious about using that motor in place of the noisier other 1. I know you have limitations when using a camera when winding it by hand.

If you are in the neighborhood of the Latitude of Capri & the Longitude of Bogota & have some spare time P.M. me.

Best Regards,

Michael

Michael,